Shore Sports Network logo
Get our free mobile app

The Shore Sports Network is back with our Wrestler of the Week feature for the 2023-2024 season, presented by Thrive Spine & Sports Rehab.

Each Monday, we will post the nominees for fans to vote and select one overall Shore Conference Wrestler of the Week. The nominees can include both boys and girls wrestlers. The poll will close Wednesday at noon.

The Shore Sports Network will also make its own selections for overall conference wrestler of the week along with county selections from Monmouth County and Ocean County, which will be announced on Mondays.

Here are the nominees for the Week of Jan. 1 through Jan. 7.


Weeks 3 Shore Conference Wrestler of the Week nominees (listed in alphabetical order)

Sonny Amato, Fr., Rumson-Fair Haven

Amato continued his excellent freshman season by beating a state qualifier and then a state medalist en route to the 144-pound SCT title. He won by technical fall over three-time state qualifier Giovanni Scafidi of Howell in the semifinals and then used a takedown late in the third period to defeat returning state fifth-place medalist Zach Reilley of Raritan, 5-2, in the championship bout.


Jake Clayton, Fr., Point Boro

Clayton was one of three freshmen to win Shore Conference Tournament titles when he defeated Middletown North's Matthew Castelli, 3-2 in ultimate tiebreaker, to secure the 157-pound SCT championship.


Joey DeAngelo, Jr., Point Boro

DeAngelo defeated Jackson Liberty's Anthony Urso, 5-2, to win the SCT title in a strong 113-pound bracket.


Michael DiBiase, Jr., Red Bank Catholic

Dibiase won the 106-pound title at the SCT with a 4-2 decision over Colts Neck's Ethan Michaels to become RBC's first SCT wrestling champion in program history.


James Farina, Sr., Ocean

Farina won the 150-pound SCT championship with a 7-3 victory over Wall senior three-time state qualifier Donovan DiStefano. In the semifinals, Farina defeated Raritan state qualifier Alex Delaurier, 5-2.


Tanner Hodgins, Fr., Howell

The Rebels' standout ninth-grader won the 175-pound SCT title and was voted as the tournament's Most Outstanding Wrestler. He won by technical fall in the quarterfinals, won by 9-1 major decision over Brick Memorial state qualifier Trey Tallmadge in the semifinals, and defeated Point Boro's Ryan Acquisto, 12-6, in the championship bout.


Anthony Knox, Jr., St. John Vianney

Knox cruised to the 126-pound title at the SCT with a 16-5 major decision over Donovan Catholic's Sawyer Ostroff. Knox won by fall in the quarterfinals and by major decision in the semifinals, helping the Lancers win the team championship for the second time in program history.


James Lynch, Jr., Toms River East

Lynch became the Raiders' first SCT champion in program history when he scored a takedown in sudden victory to defeat Donovan Catholic's Sam Rock III, 3-1, in the 285-pound championship bout.


Patrick O'Keefe, Jr., St. John Vianney

O'Keefe secured the 132-pound SCT championship by way of a 3-0 decision over Freehold Township's Alexander Grant that helped the Lancers win the team championship for the second time in program history.


Alex Reyes, So., Holmdel

Reyes avenged a loss to Rumson-Fair Haven's Conor Delaney with a 5-2 decision in the 190-pound SCT championship bout to become the Hornets' first SCT champ in program history.


Hudson Skove, Sr., Rumson-Fair Haven

The defending NJSIAA 215-pound state champion won his second SCT title with a 5-1 decision over Brick Memorial state qualifier Ben Szuba.


Cole Stangle, Jr., St. John Vianney

Stangle defeated Red Bank Catholic junior Frank Romeo, 7-2, to win the SCT title at 165 pounds and help the Lancers win the team championship for the second time in program history.


Kurt Wehner, Sr., Donovan Catholic

Wehner rolled to the 120-pound SCT championship with a 9-0 major decision over St. John Vianney's Matthew Gould, who finished eighth in the state at 106 pounds last season. Wehner won all four of his bouts by bonus points with two pins and two major decisions to become the Griffins' first SCT champion.



More From Shore Sports Network