Follow Bob Badders on Twitter for scores and news from around the Shore. 


MANCHESTER -- Seniors Nick Pollara, Will Scott, Kyle Wojtaszek and Dean Sherry, along with sophomore Dean Helstowski, swept the championship bouts from 152 to 195 pounds to lead Brick, ranked No. 5 in the Shore Sports Network Top 10, to the team title on Sunday at the Hawk Classic.

Scott was selected as the tournament's Outstanding Wrestler for winning all three of his matches by technical fall in the second period. In the 160-pound final, he defeated Allentown's Jordan Rugo, a Region VII qualifier last season, in just 2:34. Wojtaszek defeated Raritan's Nick Bohal by 13-4 major decision to win at 170 pounds and Sherry won by 5-1 decision over Toms River North's Tyler MacLaine in the 182-pound championship as all three remained undefeated. Pollara won by 10-0 major decision over Long Branch's Danny Mullan at 152 pounds and Helstowski edged Manchester's Javier Holquin 3-1 in double overtime to win at 195 pounds.

Brick's Nick Pollara won the 152-pound title at the Hawk Classic as the first of five straight champions for the Dragons in the upper weights. (Photo by Bob Badders).
Brick's Nick Pollara won the 152-pound title at the Hawk Classic as the first of five straight champions for the Dragons in the upper weights. (Photo by Bob Badders).

The Dragons also had Thomas Wright finish second at 126 pounds and Kyle Marino and Jack McLafferty finish third at 120 and 138 pounds, respectively. Brick finished with 166.5 points, 39 ahead of second-place Raritan.

The Rockets were led by senior Dylan Seidenberg, who improved to 8-0 by capturing the 138-pound title. He defeated Marlboro's Mike DeFaria 5-2 in the championship bout. Freshman Russell Benson (120), Eric Drake (132) and Nick Bohal finished second and Christian Sookdeo (106), A.J. Erven (113), James VanFechtmann, Mike Chadwick (145) and Malcolm Daniels (Hwt) wrestled back for third to give Raritan nine top-three finishers.

That was enough to edge Long Branch by one point (127.5 to 126.5) for second place. The No. 8 Green Wave were third with three champions. Junior T.J. Conlon won the 120-pound title with a 3-1 decision over Raritan's Benson, senior Andy Hernandez was the 132-pound champion after earning a 5-2 decision over Drake and junior Joey Jasio won a back-and-forth heavyweight final, 9-6 over Central's Darius Marrow.

No. 10 Toms River North was fourth, with Ricky Diaz at 113 and Mike Siwiec at 220 winning titles.

Other champions included Barnegat junior Jeff Deluise dominating the 106-pound bracket with three pins, Manchester's Chris Rodriguez at 126 and Marlboro's Pete Powell at 145.


Hawk Classic

Team Standings

1. Brick 166.5

2. Raritan 127.5

3. Long Branch 126.5

4. Toms River North 123.5

5. Manchester 84.5

6. Marlboro 66

7. Allentown 43

8. Barnegat 35.5

9. Central 32



106: Jeff Deluise (Barnegat) p. Justin Farnsworth (Long Branch) 5:34

113: Ricky Diaz (Toms River North) md. Bailey Castro (Manchester) 21-9

120: T.J. Conlon (Long Branch) d. Russell Benson (Raritan) 3-1

126: Chris Rodriguez (Manchester) d. Thomas Wright (Brick) 7-3

132: Andy Hernandez (Long Branch) d. Eric Drake (Raritan) 5-2

138: Dylan Seidenberg (Raritan) d. Mike DeFaria (Marlboro) 5-2

145: Pete Powell (Marlboro) p. Ryan O'Donnell 0:53

152: Nick Pollara (Brick) md. Danny Mullan (Long Branch) 10-0

160: Will Scott (Brick) tf. Jordan Rugo (Allentown) 2:34 (15-0).

170: Kyle Wojtaszek (Brick) md. Nick Bohal (Raritan) 13-4

182: Dean Sherry (Brick) d. Tyler MacLaine (Toms River North) 5-1

195: Dean Helstowski (Brick) d. Javier Holquin (Manchester) 3-1 2OT

220: Mike Siwiec (Toms River North) p. Alex Schnitler (Marlboro) 1:59

Hwt: Joey Jasio (Long Branch) d. Darius Marrow (Central) 9-6

More From Shore Sports Network