Many years ago I was contacted by what was then the Ocean County Athletic Directors Association about a new program in which they would honor a senior male and female from each high school.  I was asked to serve as Master of Ceremonies for what was the first Sportsmanship Awards program which featured a breakfast for the honorees and their families.  At some point a similar program was launched by the Monmouth County schools and eventually they merged into one large program for all 48 schools.

The Shore Conference of High Schools Sportsmanship Awards program has been one of my favorites and every May I have had the honor to MC the event which salutes 94 student-athletes who best represent the ideals of sportsmanship in their respective schools.

Our Shore Sports Network has worked closely to put together a special journal which features the recipients which through 2019 was distributed as part of an awards breakfast at the RWJBarnabas Health Arena.  As many as 400 people would gather for this event which brought the sportsmen (and women) together along with their families, coaches, athletic directors and others.

Group shot from the 2019 awards event
Group shot from the 2019 awards event

Then came the pandemic and in both 2020 and 2021 there was no live event although we did a special print program which was distributed to all the schools and other places.

Well after a two-year hiatus we are back and this Sunday the honorees and their families will gather again at the arena on the campus of Toms River High School North.  We are also thrilled to have the support of ProCare Rehabilitation ( who as our sponsor of the event will provide four $500 scholarships through a random drawing of all the sportsmanship winners.

Tom Carroll of ProCare said, "As a local and family owned business we are here to support our community, including high school and college athletics.  We pride ourselves in providing local Physical Therapy to people of all ages and ailments.  ProCare accepts all major insurances and stays open late...we are here to help you get back to a pain-free life."

We at the Shore Sports Network salute the athletic directors for making good sportsmanship a priority and honoring those who best represent their athletic program and school.


  Asbury Park-                         Gillian Bedward                     Joshua Handy

Barnegat-                               Julianna Cannizzaro               Keeean Paul

Brick Memorial-                   Ella Moore                              Paul Mazzeo

Brick Township-                   Savannah Eichert                    Justin Kurc

Central Regional-                 Erin McGauley                       William Maguire

Christian Brothers-                                                              Aidan Guinnessey

Colts Neck-                            Julianna Gibson                      Michael Lyristis

Donovan Catholic-                Mackenzie Kopf                     Levi Wilkins

Freehold Boro-                      Emma Gugliotta                     Tyler Ochojski

Freehold Township-              Alexandra Magliozzo             Herman Colbert Jr.

Henry Hudson-                      Lauren McCahon                    Quinn Casey

Holmdel-                                Hailey Sharpe                         Alex Price

Howell-                                   Sara Veres                               Jackson Floyd

Jackson Liberty-                   Kristina Gunusen                    Justin Watts

Jackson Memorial-               Kaliah Fitch                            Robert Paneque III

Keansburg-                            Alexis Crespo                         Andrew Valle

Keyport-                                Margaret Fisher                      George Mitchell

Lacey-                                    Christina Inman                      Kody Besser

Lakewood-                             Michelle Elias Flores             Jaylen London

Long Branch-                        Jada Bussey                          Jacob Juliano

Manalapan-                           Ava Morello                           Jordon Gravesande

Manasquan-                           Erin Driscoll                           Ben Roy

Manchester-                          Sheridan Martinez                  Jake Ruocchio

Marlboro-                              Samantha Slofkiss                  Zack Molod

Matawan-                               Kailee Bodin                           Tyler Coco

Mater Dei Prep-                    Catherine Grant                      William Burnett

Middletown North-               Maya Yesalonis                      Jorge Rivera

Middletown South-               Lara Brennan                          Thomas Schork

Monmouth Regional-            Ava Yeagle                             Jay Morris

Neptune-                                Ahjanae Young                       Dan Moran

Ocean Township-                  Adriana Ardizzone                 Ethan Brawer

Pinelands Regional-              Bridget Dudas                         James Cahill

Point Pleasant Beach-           Grace Frauenheim                  John Schulter

Point Pleasant Boro-             Taryn Sabia                            Aidan Kirk

Ranney School-                     Addison Basile                       Charles Anyichie

Raritan-                                 Kori Ann Gargiulo                  Alex Dekis

Red Bank Catholic-              Alyson Sweeney                     Chris Holt

Red Bank Regional-              Camryn Stack                         Gus Dal Pra

Rumson-Fair Haven             Grace Colucci                         Geoff Schroeder

Saint John Vianney-             Mackenzie Bloss                    Liam Thomas

Saint Rose-                             Darby Sherman                       Luke Hamill

Shore Regional-                     Alexandra Muscillo                Rylan Fegan

Southern Regional-               Abigail Gallacher                   Nate Bischoff

Toms River East-                  Lizzie Gillen                           Anthony Encarnacion

Toms River North-               Brandelyn Manna                   Ryan Baker

Toms River South-                Cassidy Caufield                    Logan Burtt

Trinity Hall                             Anna Clements

Wall-                                      Lauren Lacey                          Chris Mitchell


Top Ice Cream Shops at The Jersey Shore

Here are the Top Ice Cream Shops at the Jersey Shore for you to enjoy this summer.



More From Shore Sports Network