A contingent of 13 Shore Conference players will suit up for the South All-Star team on Monday during the 40th Phil Simms North-South All-Star Football Classic at Kean University.

Freehold quarterback Ashante Worthy, Howell quarterback Eddie Morales, Manalapan running back Naim Mayfield, Point Boro quarterback James Fara, Point Beach linebacker Luke Frauenheim, Matawan defensive back Jon Ogungbenro, Howell wide receiver Naseim Brantley, Barnegat linebacker Juan Abraham, St. John Vianney defensive end Nick Densieski, Southern linebacker Joe Mele, Toms River North linebacker Daryn Blackwell, Red Bank Catholic offensive lineman Rich Christie and Howell defensive lineman Matt Mazauskas are all set to play in the state all-star game, which kicks off at 7 p.m.

As Shore Sports Network’s inaugural football MVP, Worthy had the greatest statistical season in Shore Conference and state history to lead the Colonials to an 8-4 record and a trip to the Central Jersey Group IV championship game. He ran for a modern state single-season record 2,860 yards with 41 touchdowns and added 2,106 yards passing and 20 touchdowns. HIs 61 combined touchdowns between rushing and passing set a state single-season record, and he became the first player in state history to rush and throw for 2,000 yards in a single season.

The Shore Sports Network Offensive Player of the Year, Mayfield has the greatest statistical season ever by a Shore Conference running back and one of the best in state history to help the Braves win the Class A North division title, finish 11-1 and reach the Central Jersey Group V championship game. Mayfield ran for 2,681 yards on an average of 13.2 yards per carry and set Shore Conference and state records by scoring 48 touchdowns (46 rushing) and 282 points.

Outdone at quarterback only by Worthy’s incomprehensible season, Morales was a great leader who helped the Rebels to their best season in nearly a decade. The Monmouth University commit led the Shore in passing with 2,156 yards and 24 touchdowns with a 70 percent completion rate. He also ran for a team-high 725 yards and 10 touchdowns to power Howell to a 9-2 record and a trip to the South Jersey Group V semifinals. Morales also had 20 tackles and two interceptions on defense and caught a touchdown pass.

Eddie Morales (3), Naseim Brantley (2) and the rest of Howell is aiming to knockoff No. 1 Manalapan on Friday night. (Photo by Paula Lopez).
Howell's Eddie Morales (3) and Naseim Brantley (2) will be part of a 13-player contingent from the Shore to play in the Phil Simms North-South All-Star Classic. (Photo by Paula Lopez).

Among the most dynamic players in the Shore, Brantley excelled on offense, defense and special teams with 20 total touchdowns to help the Rebels go 9-2 and reach the South Jersey Group V semifinals. Brantley caught 48 passes for 785 yards and tied for the conference lead with 13 touchdown catches. He also ran for two touchdowns and threw a touchdown pass. At defensive back, Brantley made 29 tackles with three interceptions, two forced fumbles and an interception return for a touchdown. As a kick returner, Brantley had two kickoff returns for touchdowns and a punt return for a score.

As the leader of Point Boro’s triple-option offense, Fara had a great season to lead the Panthers to an 11-1 record, a third straight Class B South division title and a trip to a sectional final for the first time since 2007. Fara was fourth in the Shore in rushing with 1,628 yards and 24 touchdowns on an average of 7.8 yards per carry and also threw for 611 yards and seven touchdowns with a 60 percent completion rate. Point Boro had the No. 7 offense in the Shore averaging 32.5 points per game.

Selected as the Class B Central Defensive Player of the Year, Frauenheim was the heart and soul of a Point Beach team that reached the Central Jersey Group I championship game. Frauenheim made 59 tackles with two sacks and two interceptions as a linebacker, and as Point Beach’s quarterback threw for 1,438 yards and 14 touchdowns while rushing for a team-high 785 yards and four touchdowns.

The most productive pass-rusher in the Shore Conference over the last two seasons, Densieski recorded 12 sacks for a St. John Vianney team that finished 10-1, won the Class A Central division title for the fourth year in a row, extended its Shore Conference winning streak to 38 games and reached the Non-Public Group III semifinals. He also had 48 tackles (32 solo) with nine hits behind the line of scrimmage, a fumble return for a touchdown and a forced fumble. He had a season-high three sacks in a 35-17 win over Red Bank Catholic and had two sacks each in wins over Raritan, Red Bank and Monmouth, and two sacks against DePaul in the state semifinals. Densieski was also selected to the Class A Central all-division team.

Last season it was the Shore Conference trio of Toms River North’s Darrion Carrington, Howell’s Mekai Gandy and Long Branch’s Keith Cooper who helped the South All-Stars to a 30-22 victory and this year’s group will try help the South extend its lead in the all-time series.


Managing editor Bob Badders can be reached at bob.badders@townsquaremedia.com. Follow him on Twitter @Bob_Badders. Like Shore Sports Network on Facebook and subscribe to our YouTube channel for all the latest video highlights.


More From Shore Sports Network