With more off days now that the individual tournament is in full swing, I was going through Track Wrestling and came up with the idea of posting win-type leaders for the Shore Conference. I was also going to post scoring leaders (takedowns, reversals, near-falls, etc.) but it looks like not every team has entered that information into Track Wrestling.

And just for the fun of it, a Shore Conference pound-for-pound top 10. Of course these are not official rankings of any kind and have no bearing on anything, just my opinion based on observations throughout the year.

Shore Conference Top 10 Pound-for-Pound Wrestling Rankings

1. Gianni Ghione, Sr., 132, Brick Memorial

2. Matt McKenzie, Sr., 195, Wall

3. A.J. Meyers, Sr., 160, Toms River East

4. Cole Corrigan, Jr., 145, Toms River South

5. Jake Benner, Jr., 138, Ocean

6. Nick Rivera, Sr., Hwt, Brick Memorial

7. Rob Kanniard, So., 152, Wall

8. Hunter Gutierrez, So., 106, Lacey

9. Richie Koehler, Jr., 113, CBA

10. Eric Keosseian, Sr., 220, Howell


Win-Type Leaders

Note: All statistics compiled from trackwrestling.com. 


Jake Benner, Ocean 25

Brian Winz, Midd. North 25

Brad Smuro, Shore 24

Nick Rivera, Brick Mem. 23

Jimmy Sherlock, Point Beach 23

Kyle Slendorn, Howell 23

Steven Kramer, Colts Neck 22

Richie Koehler, CBA 21

Jack Baker, Point Beach 21

Stanley Wojdylak, Midd. North 21


Technical fall

Matt McGowan, Jackson Mem. 9

Tyler Klinsky, Midd. North 8

Xavier Kelly, Howell 8

Nick Schutzenhofer, CBA 7

Paul Santomarco, Manalapan 7

Matt Garrity, Lacey 6

Nick Tomasiello, Jackson Mem. 6

Dave Santiago, Brick 6

Jack Kelly, Wall 6

Joey King, Colts Neck 6


Major decision

Dave Santiago, Brick 9

Dan Esposito, Howell 9

Luke Moynihan, Lacey 8

Adam Manzo, Ocean 7

Chris Dean, Long Branch 7

Nick O’Connell, Southern 7

Alex Baran, Manalapan 7

Jaleel Gopaul, Matawan 7

Chris Ammirati, Holmdel 7

A.J. Lipovetsky, Marlboro 7



Chris Nielsen, Pinelands 11

Matt McKenzie, Wall 9

James Piehler, Middletown South 9

Eric Quartey, Freehold Twp. 9

Sal DiSalvo, Donovan 8

Scott Dupont, Holmdel 8

Sean Foley, Barnegat 8

Hunter Gutierrez, Lacey 8

Dean Helstowski, Brick 8

A.J. Meyers, TR East 8

Eric Nellis, Keyport 8

Pat O’Donnell, TR North 8

Raymond Whitley, Lakewood 8


Sudden Victory

Russell Benson, Raritan 2

Josh Bollard, Jackson Liberty 2

Billy Borowsky, Point Boro 2

William Theodosatos, Freehold 2

Jack McCrae, Shore 2

Jake Nash, Howell 2

Ricky Voss, Monmouth 2



Cade Watkins, Point Beach 2

Tim Yuro, TR South 2


Ultimate tiebreaker

Cameron DiGiorgio, CBA 4

Al Desantis, Shore 2

Vin Miele, Southern 2

Erik Nellis, Keyport 2

Christian Wilson, Ocean 2


Wrestling editor Bob Badders can be reached at badders@allshoremedia.com. Follow him on Twitter @Bob_Badders. Like Shore Sports Network on Facebook and subscribe to our YouTube channel for all the latest video highlights.


More From Shore Sports Network