Shore Sports Network logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

New Jersey’s longest-running all-star football game is the latest victim of the COVID-19 pandemic with the official announcement that the Shore Sports Network All-Shore Gridiron Classic has been canceled.

The 43rd annual game, which matches recently-graduated seniors from Monmouth and Ocean counties was scheduled for July 15 at Toms River High School North. Head coaches were to be Wall's Tony Grandinetti Wall for Monmouth County and Toms River East's Kyle Sandberg for Ocean County.

“It is with regret that we are in the position where we cannot offer our fine, deserving athletes the opportunity to compete in our All-Shore Football Classic," said Lacey head coach Lou Vircillo, speaking for the trustees of the Shore Football Coaches Foundation, which runs the game in partnership with the Shore Sports Network.

"This pandemic has affected everyone and we will still need time for everything to return to normal. As we offer our prayers for everyone to stay safe, we hope our lives will return to normal soon. We acknowledge our senior athletes and although they will not be able to compete, we are honored to salute them and their coaches. On behalf of the Shore Football Coaches Foundation and our game directors, Dominick Lepore and Gerard O’Donnell, we hope to see our Shore football family again next year.”

The game also provided contributions to the Challenger Sports League as well as the 1st Lt. Brian Brennan Stands Alone Foundation.

This will be the first summer without an All-Shore Gridiron Classic since the game was established in 1978. Monmouth County has won the last three meetings, including 21-6 last year at Long Branch High School when the game had to be postponed a day due to severe thunderstorms. Monmouth County leads the all-time series, 23-18-1.

Shore Sports Network Director Kevin Williams said tentative plans are for the game to return to Toms River North on Wednesday, July 14, 2021.

Rosters for the game were in their preliminary phase and are usually fluid into the week of the game. Below are the current rosters with players who had been confirmed for the game, courtesy of John Bird (Monmouth County) and Frank Papalia (Ocean County).

Monmouth County

Romeo Thomas, Colts Neck

Thomas Lidondici, Colts Neck

Jarrid Markowitz, Freehold Township

Quinn Pavlinetz, Holmdel

Evan Jennings, Holmdel

Matt Gillen, Keansburg

Devon Meza, Keyport

Tracey Taylor, Long Branch

Jermaine Corbett, Long Branch

Matt Benedetti, Manalapan

Mateusz Zielinski, Manalapan

Justin Reilly, Manalapan

John Foreman, Manasquan

Steve Cassidy, Marlboro

Dominic Palumbo, Marlboro

Paul Damato, Marlboro

Matthew Spencer, Middletown North

Nasir Thompson, Ocean

Brian Fisher, Ocean

Danny Fiore, Raritan

Kevin Lind, Raritan

Jaylen Smith, Raritan

Kevin Degnan, Red Bank Catholic

Elijah Jules, Red Bank Catholic

AJ Abarno, Red Bank

Gordon Forsyth, Rumson-Fair Haven

Ian Ackerman, Wall

Dale McNally, Wall

Jack Wolter, Wall


Ocean County


Ryan Clark, Donovan Catholic

Anthony Albanese, Brick Memorial

Mike Goodall, Toms River East



Landon Richardson, Central

Nasir Calhoun, Donovan Catholic

Liam Buday, Point Beach

Jarrod Pruitt, Toms River North



Zack Novak, Jackson Memorial

Bobby Evans, Lacey

Sam Young, Point Boro

Will Devane, Southern

Dominick Jacob, Toms River North

Rob Marro, Toms River South



Isaiah Gerena, Barnegat

Ed Wilkinson, Pinelands

Riley Engelhard, Toms River East



Griffin Jackstadt, Barnegat

Max Zdanowicz, Brick

Michael Spanola, Brick Memorial

Tom Buxton, Donovan Catholic

Sean Laverty, Jackson Memorial

John Mayer, Manchester

Dan Meccia, Point Boro

Colby Saxton, Southern

Najae Hallenbeck, Toms River North

Matt Salmons, Toms River South



John Costanza, Brick

Ian Gellner, Brick

Jared Keefe, Brick

Ryan McCombs, Brick Memorial

Chris Aldrich, Donovan Catholic

Colin McCarthy, Jackson Memorial

Antonio Farias, Jackson Memorial

Fransisco Santillan, Lakewood

Jason Sherlock, Point Beach

Seb Cervetto, Southern

CJ Niedzielski, Toms River North



Dominick Aneses, Barnegat

Gunnar Nemeth, Central

Jimmy Celentano, Jackson Liberty

Brian Zapata, Jackson Memorial

Nic Ford, Jackson Memorial

Matt Vinsko, Point Beach

Vinny Palmieri, Toms River North



CJ Lavarin, Brick

Justin Gorski, Lacey

Xavier Williams, Manchester

Cole Robinson, Southern

Ray Carlson, Toms River North



Anthony Prato, Brick (QB/WR/DB/P)

Mike Kudlacik, Lacey (FB/LB)

TJ Paturzo, Lakewood (QB/RB)

Andrew Bartlet, Pinelands (RB/LB)

Frank Lord (LS/LB)

Frankie Giannetti (RB/LB)

Matt Spalletta (QB/LB/KR)


Special Teams

Keaon Torres, Donovan Catholic (kicker)

George Kaiafas, Point Beach (kicker)

Jake McKown, Jackson Memorial (punter)

Devin Zamot, Manchester (punter)

Jake Bosco, Jackson Liberty (return specialist)



TACKLE THESE: Check Out the Best Uniforms In Each NFL Team's History



More From Shore Sports Network