Results from Monday and Tuesday's Shore Conference wrestling action.





At Manchester

Full recap


Long Branch won the team title with five champions to out-point Raritan and its four champions. Brick finished third.

T.J. Conlon at 132, Luke Arnold at 145, Danny Mullan at 152, Lamont Reid at 170 and Joey Jasio at heavyweight captured titles for the Green Wave.

A.J. Erven at 120, Russell Benson at 126, Anthony Aquilano at 138 and Nick Bohal at 160 won championships for Raritan. Aquiline won the 138-pound title as the No. 9 seed as was voted as Most Outstanding Wrestler.

Brick junior Dean Helstowski won the 182-pound title and Manchester's Will Farparan captured the 195-pound crown.



At Brick Memorial

Complete results

Photo gallery by Ray Richardson

Story and video highlights

Brick Memorial's Gianni Ghione wins Most Outstanding Wrestler


106: 4-Michael Kelly (St. Peter's Prep) d. 7-Darby Diedrich (Howell) 6-2

113: 1-Nick Duca (Paulsboro) d. 2-Michael Simonetti (St. Peter's Prep) 5-4

120: 1-Gianni Ghione (Brick Memorial) p. 2-Anthony Duca (Paulsboro) 1:16

126: 1-Alec Kelly (St. Peter's Prep) tf. 6-Joe Demuner (Wall) 3:31 (15-0)

132: 8-Jake Benner (Ocean) d. 3-Reid White (St. Augustine Prep) 6-4

138: 1-Nick Santos (St. Peter's Prep) d. 7-Stanley Wodjylak (Midd. North) 6-0

145: 1-Jared Kobis (High Point) d. 2-Dillon Taylor (St. Augustine Prep) 5-2

152: 3-Lorenzo Ruggiero (Delsea) d. 1-Dominick Mandarino (Don Bosco Prep) 3-2

160: 1-Kyle Bierdumpfel (Don Bosco Prep) d. 7-Bill Janzer (Delsea) 7-0

170: 1-Brett Donner (Wall) p. 2-Zach Richard (Paulsboro) 1:23

182: 3-Jose Tabora (St. Augustine) p. 1-Peter Acciardi (Don Bosco Prep) 4:58

195: 1-Matt McKenzie (Wall) d. 2-Saverio Salcfas (Brearley) 4-2 2OT

220: 1-Matt Correnti (Holy Cross) p. 2-Jim Brady (St. Augustine) 3:09

Hwt: 3-Eric Chakonis (Don Bosco Prep) d. 1-Nick Rivera (Brick Memorial) 4-1




At Middletown South

Photo gallery by Robert Samuels

Full recap


Camden Catholic, fueled by a freshman Lucas Revano's pin over Christian Brothers Academy state medalist Rich Koehler in the 113-pound quarterfinals, edged CBA for the team title.

Senior Mark McCormick was Camden Catholic's only other champion, but the Irish also had two other finalists and two third-place finishers.

Nick Shutzenhofer at 106, Sebastian Rivera at 120, Ben Kuhn at 145 and Jack LaCorte at at 195 won titles for CBA. William Oxley finished second at 220 pounds.

Tyler Kalmowitz and Jared DiZenzo captured titles to help Jackson Liberty finish fourth. Kalmowitz won the 170-pound title and DiZenzo was the champion at heavyweight. Nick Pellegrino (113) and Jeremy Bollard (152) each finished second.



At Hunterdon Central


Toms River East junior A.J. Meyers defeated Buena's Mason Brestle 3-2 to win the 160-pound title. Meyers was third in the Region VI Tournament at 152 pounds last season while Brestle was the Region VIII champion 145 pounds. The Raiders were the only Shore Conference team in the tournament and Meyers was their only champion. Justin Hertler finished second at 182.



Lacey junior Matt Garrity won the 152-pound title and Hunter Guttierez and Luke Moynihan each finished second to lead the Lions to a third-place finish as a team.

Garrity, the District 24 third-place finisher at 152 pounds last season, won by 15-0 technical fall in 4:00 over Northern Burlington's Andrew Smith in the championship bout. Smith was the District 25 fourth-place finisher at 138 pounds last season.

Guttierez dropped a 5-3 decision to Washington Township's Alec Baisch in the 106-pound final. Moynihan was defeated in a 12-2 major decision by Washington Township's Dom Pataky.



Secaucus Tournament

At Secaucus


John Finnerty, Giancarlo Crivelli and Jimmy Sherlock won individual title to lead a group of eight top-three finishers that propelled the Garnet Gulls to the team title.

Adel Soliman won the 126-pound title for Red Bank, which had three top-three finishers.

Finnerty captured the 145-pound championship with a 13-6 decision over Princeton's James Verbeyest. He reached the final with a pair of pins, including a fall in 28 seconds in the quarterfinals. Crivelli won by 14-3 major decision over Princeton's Alex Freda at 152 pounds, and Sherlock captured the 160-pound title with a 6-4 decision over Bayonne's Matthew Menendez.

Will Jarvis at 106 and Forrest Gardner at heavyweight finished second, and Jared Hoeler at 126, Roddy Rupp at 138 and Cade Watkins at 220 placed third.

Soliman edged Secaucus's Frank Losurdo 3-2 in the 126-pound final as the Bucs' lone champion. Losurdo was the District 16 fourth-place finisher at 126 pound last season. Luke Devine at 113 and Tom Hinz at 152 finished third.




At Holmdel


Full recap

Shore won the team title with five individual champions, including senior Alex Johnson, who pinned his way to the 145-pound title. Matt Kelmser at 113, Tim Kelmser at 120, Paul  Tietjen at 160 and Darius Gevas at 220 also won titles for the Blue Devils.

Pinelands junior Chris Nielsen won by 13-3 major decision over Holmdel's Garrett Hilsheimer at 170 pounds, and was selected as the Most Outstanding Wrestler by the coaches.


Bear Invitational

At East Brunswick


Matawan junior Andrew Conzo won the 195-pound title with a 17-7 major decision over Hopewell Valley's Ben Markulec and the Huskies finished seventh out of 13 teams. Junior Derrick Wiley finished second at 160 pounds, dropping a 4-1 decision to top-seeded Jeremy Numberer of Manville.


Lenape Valley Tournament

At Lenape Valley

Senior Owen McClave and sophomore Nick Gallicchio won individual titles for the Indians.