Shore Sports Network logo
Get our free mobile app

Class A South

Toms River East 11, No. 7 Southern 7

Gavin Toth, Ryan Koman and Lucas Brush each delivered a two-run hit during a nine-run outburst in the fourth inning and the Raiders turned the game on its head midway through to deny the Rams an outright Class A South championship.

With Toms River East's win, Southern, Jackson Memorial and Brick Memorial share the Class A South division championship.

Toth singled home two runs to get Toms River East on the board and Ryan Koman's triple into the left-field corner pulled the Raiders within 5-4. Matt Ferrara then followed with a game-tying RBI single and Brush's two-run single extended the lead to 8-5.

Jackson Memorial is a Class A South champion for the fifth consecutive season, while Southern won its first division championship since 1986. Brick Memorial, meanwhile, earns a share of its first ever Class A South title, with its last division championship coming as a member of Class B South in 1995.

Southern (14-7, 10-4)10310117112
TR East (12-10, 8-6)000902X11103


Mike Nasti33000340
Owen Durnien (L)0.25651027
Tyler McLeod0.21303237
Steve Miller1.21202233
Dan Nafziger3.17532285
Lucas Melton (W)1.20002228
Mason Pentz24211347

Top Hitters

SouthernGame Stats
Brandon Brown3-4, 3B, 2 R
Ray Mulhern3-5, R, RBI
Kyle Serino2-4, 2 2B, 2 R
Brady Lesiak1-3, BB, HBP, R, RBI
Niko Diamantopoulos1-4, RBI
Toms River EastGame Stats
Luke Brush3-3, BB, 2 RBI
Matt Ferrara2-3, 2B, R, RBI
Gavin Toth2-3, BB, 2 R, 3 RBI
Ryan Koman1-4, 3B, R, 2 RBI
Ryan Ushock1-3, BB, R


Class B Central

Asbury Park at Lakewood, 4 p.m.



No. 3 Donovan Catholic 17, St. John Vianney 9

Fifth-year senior Anthony Mursko (3-for-5, double, RBI) collected the 100th hit of his high-school career while Dave Yorke smashed two runs as the Griffins handled the Lancers. Senior Rocco Scarpitti and sophomore Tyler Levine each went deep as well for Donovan Catholic.

Freehold Boro 14, Manchester 4 (5 Innings)

Lacey 8, Brick 4

Toms River South 6, Jackson Liberty 0



Nottingham 7, Shore 2

Bridgewater-Raritan 11, No. 10 Marlboro 5

East Brunswick 7, Colts Neck 6 (8 Innings)



More From Shore Sports Network