EATONTOWN - A group of 86 Shore Conference seniors who are standouts in the classroom as well as the field were honored by the Shore Football Coaches Foundation on Sunday as Academic All-Shore recipients at the annual banquet at Gibbs Hall.

The Academic All-Shore team, which consisted of two seniors from each of the Shore's 43 teams, was selected by their respective head coaches for having a grade-point average of 3.0 or better, making an impact on the field, and for their service in their local community.

Keyport's Chase Bright receives his Academic All-Shore award from guest speaker Rich O'Connor of Montclair State at Sunday's Shore Football Coaches Foundation banquet at Gibbs Hall. (Photo by Scott Stump)


Mater Dei Prep quarterback Christian Palmer is among the group of 20 players who received the academic honor and were selected to play in July's U.S. Army All-Shore Gridiron Classic. (Photo by Scott Stump)

Montclair State offensive coordinator Rich O’Connor, who has coached numerous Shore stars during his 32 seasons as an assistant with the Red Hawks, served as the guest speaker, letting the seniors know what to expect once they reach the college level. Serving as the emcee of the event, which was sponsored by Barnabas Health, was Shore Sports Network's own Kevin Williams.

The Coaches of the Year for each of the Shore Conference’s six divisions were also honored: Middletown North’s Steve Bush (Class A North); St. John Vianney’s Mark Ciccotelli (Class A Central); Jackson Memorial’s Walt Krystopik (Class A South); Red Bank Catholic’s Jim Portela (Class B North); Shore Regional’s Mark Costantino (Class B Central); and Central’s Willie Jacobs (Class B South).

St. John Vianney's Mark Ciccotelli received the Class A Central Coach of the Year award. (Photo by Scott Stump)


Central's Willie Jacobs was honored as the Class B South Coach of the Year. (Photo by Scott Stump)

It was also announced that Costantino and former Jackson Memorial and Wall coach Chris Barnes will both be inducted into the Shore Football Coaches Foundation Hall of Fame at halftime of the game.

The coaches unveiled the rosters for Monmouth and Ocean County in this summer’s U.S. Army All-Shore Gridiron Classic. The game is on July 16 at 7 p.m. at Long Branch High School. Mark Costantino, who led Shore to an 11-1 season, the Class B Central title, and the Central Jersey Group I title, will coach the Monmouth County squad. Walt Krystopik, who led Jackson Memorial to an 11-1 season of its own, the Central Jersey Group IV title, and the final No. 1 ranking in the Shore, will coach Ocean County.

Deserving special mention is a group of 21 players who not only received the academic honor, but also have been selected to play in the game: Barnegat's Kyle Morris, Brick's James Juliano, Central's Anthony Arneth, Jackson Memorial's Tyler Rauch and Brody Graham, Keyport's Chase Bright, Lacey's Conor Davies, Manalapan's Imamu Mayfield, Manchester's Robert Planter, Matawan's Devon Spann, Marlboro's Mo Omar, Mater Dei Prep's Christian Palmer, Ocean's Frank Henry, Toms River South's Quentin DeCarlo, Point Beach's Jake Fioretti, Point Boro's Jack Fitzsimmons, Raritan's Colby Jones, Shore's James Bedell, Southern's Pat Ferraro and Clay Robinson, and Toms River North's Joe Fantozzi.

Shore Regional linebacker James Bedell, who was a first-team All-Shore selection in the fall for the state champion Blue Devils, also received the academic honor and will play in the All-Shore Gridiron Classic before heading off to UConn. (Photo by Scott Stump)

There also were some other academic recipients, lilke Yale-bound All-Shore first-teamer Kyle Mullen of Manalapan and Mo,nmouth Regional first-team All-Shore wide receiver Isaiah Searight, a Fordham recruit, who would have played in the game but will be at their respective colleges by early July and are unable to participate.

The following players were honored as Academic All-Shore recipients:

Asbury Park: Sal Swain, Karon Rigby

Barnegat: Kyle Morris, Adam Ricci

Brick Memorial: Karl-Mark Kumm, Nick DeGroat

Brick: Simon Bingelis, James Juliano

Central: Alex Fernandez, Anthony Arneth

Colts Neck: Christian Sanchez, Connor Ray

Donovan Catholic: Dale Barlet, Austin Koziol

Freehold Boro: Mitch Johnson, Will Fraumeni

Freehold Twp.: Matt Pine, Mike Reszkowski

Holmdel: Adam Ibrahim, Joseph Ibrahim

Howell: Anthony Sarullo, Jeremy Subjinski

Jackson Liberty: Matt Pinto, Kyle Scripko

Jackson Memorial: Tyler Rauch, Brody Graham

Keansburg: John Corrigan, Isaac Bakala

Keyport: Dan Williams, Chase Bright

Lacey: James Peaney, Conor Davies

Lakewood: Keshaun Conover, Anthony Terry

Long Branch: Jordan Rodriguez, Steve Kologi

Manalapan: Kyle Mullen, Imamu Mayfield

Manasquan: Matt Paturzo, Luke O’Shaughnessy

Manchester: Robert Planter Jr., Kwaku Owusu

Marlboro: Mo Omar, Andrew Fishbaum

Matawan: Devon Spann, Nick Malta

Mater Dei Prep: Liam Olausen, Christian Palmer

Middletown North: Vincent Pianoforte, Parker Anderson

Middletown South: Nolan Pereless, Dom Tobacco

Monmouth Reg.: Isaiah Searight, Liam Kennedy

Neptune: Keysan Johnson, Mi’Jaut Berry

Ocean Twp.: Frank Henry, Pat Ellison

Pinelands: Justin Sisombath, Jake Steurze

Pt. Beach: Jake Fioretti, Zach Schaller

Pt. Boro: Jack Fitzsimmons, John Youmans

Raritan: Colby Jones, Kevin Koehler

Red Bank Catholic: Nick Cella, John Portela

Red Bank: Matt Karr, Zachary Carrano

Rumson Fair-Haven: Tim Morales, Jackson Reid

St. John Vianney: P.J. Braccia, Nick Mastria

Shore: Chris Johnsen, James Bedell

Southern: Pat Ferraro, Clay Robinson

Toms River East: Joseph Davidyock, Bryan Bullock

Toms River North: Joe Fantozzi, Tyler MacLaine

Toms River South: Quentin DeCarlo, Francis Hearne

Wall: Liam Ferguson, Jake Van Brunt